Flyin' Fish to defend Segway polo title

Post date: May 30, 2011 7:2:46 PM

From the Barbados Advocate

Flyin' Fish to defend Segway polo title


THE Barbados Flyin' Fish Segway Polo team will be going after their third consecutive World Championship title when they head to Folsom, California from June 16 to 19, 2011 to compete in the Woz Challenge Cup Segway World Polo Championships.

Barbados will be fielding two teams as they did at the 2010 Championships and on the defending champions Flyin’ Fish team will be Peter Gilkes, who captains the side of Jason Gilkes, Ryan Rodriguez, Michael Hassell, Brett Callaghan, Daniel Hatch and Brett de Gale.

When this team first captured the title in 2009, they had only been playing for about four months and now will be the ones to beat.

The second team is the Run Runners, who placed fourth last year and will comprise Ralph Luther, Ben Toppin, David Eastmond and Dwayne Clarke, and they will be joined by overseas players, Todd Wills and Drew Foster.

There will be 12 teams competing in the championships which started in 2006.

The two are slated to leave on June 13 for the competition.